James: Money vs. Morality

This blog will talk about what I consider to be the MAIN THEME of the book of James in the NT. We’ve been studying James for some time now, and I may now be finally getting the picture of Jame’s over-all theme. Let me call it this:

MONEY vs. MORALITY
Another way of saying it could be:
RICH vs. POOR
And another way of saying it could be:
COMMERCE vs. COMMON LAW.

So let’s take a quick look at why I think MONEY vs. MORALITY is James’ THESIS. For starters, Chapter 1 deals with RICH vs. POOR. I’ll get into more detail in another blog. Chapter 2 deals with SHOWING PARTIALITY vs. living by THE ROYAL LAW. I’ll get into that in another blog too. Chapter 3 deals with SAGES vs. MERCHANTS. I’ll get into that too in another blog (probably the next one). Chapters 4 and 5 deal with POLITICAL DIVISIONS and MERCHANT ARROGANCE vs. everybody else in society. It’s all about the MONEY and resultant SOCIAL OPPRESSION.

I’ll get into this more in another blog. Just wanted to put this out there so I don’t forget it.

In the next blog entry, we’ll take a look at the KEY WORDS in Chapter 3.

 

Leave a comment